Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 18th, 2024, 1:39am

Balance: £24.15
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.3 16v won't crank/no power »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.3 16v won't crank/no power
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.3 16v won't crank/no power  (Read 723 times)
mcadam

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.3 16v won't crank/no power
« on: Jun 5th, 2021, 6:28pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi all.

I went to an air line yesterday and in the 5 minutes it took to fill the tyres, the car lost all power but the battery, airbag and oil light remained lit (with key out of the ignition) as well as the auto box trim light.

I attempted to jump start it thinking it was the battery with no luck so resorted to calling break down. All fuses and battery were deemed to be ok so it gets towed to the nearest garage. I was about to leave when I heard the door chime in the car - it then starts first time! It is obviously an electrical fault as whilst driving, the rev limiter bounces, lights in the dash are dimmer and the passenger door mirror is in the permanently dipped position as if the car had been in reverse.

As soon as I arrive home with the car and take the key out of the ignition, it won't start again. However, when I turn the headlight switch I can hear the relays nake a click in the fuse box.

Am I on the right lines of thinking that this could be a bad earth? The car has always been well maintained and never suffered any electrical issues in my ownership.

Any help appreciated.  
Thanks.
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: 2.3 16v won't crank/no power
« Reply #1 on: Jun 5th, 2021, 7:42pm »

Check the headlight switch. There is a known issue with one of the pins overheating and causing problems.