Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 30th, 2024, 7:07pm

Balance: £9.15
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 24V Cosworth mystic stalling problem »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   24V Cosworth mystic stalling problem
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 24V Cosworth mystic stalling problem  (Read 2832 times)
theogrenietis

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

24V Cosworth mystic stalling problem
« on: Jul 25th, 2018, 4:37pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hey guys, I`m new to the forum, but I have high hopes that some of the guru`s here will help me.  
So I purchased a 95 ultima cosworth in november, for 450 EUR (400GPB), with 280 000 km (173k miles) on the clock, in very good condition.  
First 2000 km the car ran flawlessly, but after that, it developed a misfire at high revs (close at red line) and after that the car developed the worst problem ever, an intermittent stalling problem - while driving on the highway at constant speed the car would just stall without any warning, like someone just turned off the ignition and it is not possible to get the car going anymore for at least a few hours. When the car cools, it always starts like nothing has happened. This problem is so annoying because always when I want to find the culprit, the car works, yesterday I did 300km (200 miles) and it died while going along in the city at slow speeds.  
I started with changing the fuel filter, because I thought this was the problem, when nothing changed I did numerous tests with the fuel pressure o`meter, and came to the conclusion that there is no problem in the fuel system, fuel pressure regulator also works. When the problem occurs, there is no big change in the fuel pressure readings, so it makes me think that the problem is electrical.